A Belarusian perspective on the action and Bundestag day

One of the Belarusian participants of our youth exchange „Human rights in times of war: Reflections on democracy and asylum“ wrote this essay for us to publish. They detail how they experienced the youth exchange in total, and specifically, the day of the action in front of the Bundestag and the talk to a member of parliament afterwards.


Hi.

My name is M. I am a political refugee from Belarus and most recently I had a great possibility to participate in a youth exchange organized by Vereinigung für Vernetzung und Partizipation e.V. from Berlin.

In this essay, I would like to share a little story about the most important event we were preparing for during this exchange.

But before that I would like to express my untold gratitude to the organizers for everything that happened this week. I really can’t find the right words to say a big thank you to everyone I’ve been able to meet. I am very grateful to H for his willingness to help in any matter, for the endless positivity even in difficult situations, for the concern and interesting program. I am also really grateful to K for his endless readiness to help at any time, for good company, a beautiful smile and good taste in music! Grateful to A for nice conversations, for interesting topics and wonderful travel in Berlin. Grateful for M and K for good company, for the wonderful time spent playing various games in the evenings, for the thoughts expressed and for the work that they also devote to people like me. Grateful for F and J for nice discussions and help. And in general, I am very grateful that each of them takes, albeit small, steps towards making our world a better place. I would be immensely happy to be in their company again. It’s sad to know that we are so far away.

And so, closer to the point.

Many seminars, practical tasks and conversations during the exchange were aimed at preparing for the “Action”, which took place on October 10. It was interesting to listen, draw, invent and play.

But no emotions during preparation could compare with the emotions that I was able to experience during “Action”.

As soon as we got off at the station from which our journey to the Bundestag began, I immediately felt that I was about to do something grandiose. Sunglasses, mask, raincoat – we are special agents, walking around Berlin, collecting glances from passers-by and the police. Of course, we had to wear these things in order to protect ourselves from the KGB, the secret service of the Belarusian regime.

By the way, it was, frankly speaking, quite scary when the police check of documents took a very long time. But everything worked out and we took action.

Graffiti, posters – I tried to help everywhere. Also, A and I got a great opportunity to be models for photographers. Hope to see a photo soon.

After “Action” we had to come to the point and dress up as completely different people… Was this a scene from some detective film? I felt like I was back in 2020, when escaping and hiding identity was a completely normal and commonplace action.

But that is not all!

(C) Kathrin Vogler, DIE LINKE

That same day, I, a simple girl from the village, managed to visit the office where politicians hold meetings. Talk to a woman from Parliament… And although what this woman said was not something new or giving proper hope… It was still pleasant that here, far from Belarus, far from this horror, there are also people who try for us too.

We walked around Berlin at night. We visited the American and Polestinsky sectors (it was dangerous, but we are Belarusians)…

This is where “Action” ends…

Once again I thank each and everyone!

Sincerely,

Your M.